You are here

ETOM will host Lonesome Dove exhibit July 20 - Aug. 31

Beginning Saturday, July 20, The East Texas Oil Museum at Kilgore College will present Lonesome Dove, an exhibition produced by the Wittliff Collections from the Alkek Library at Texas State University.

The exhibit is presented in partnership with Humanities Texas, the state affiliate for the National Endowment for the Humanities and will be on display at the ETOM through Aug. 31.

Lonesome Dove—Larry McMurtry’s epic novel of two aging Texas Rangers who drive a herd of stolen cattle 2,500 miles from the Rio Grande to Montana to found the first ranch there—captured the public imagination and has never let it go.

The Lonesome Dove miniseries, which first aired on CBS in 1989, lassoed an even wider audience.

Capturing the sweeping visual imagery of the original miniseries, the Lonesome Dove exhibition presents 55 framed classic images taken during filming by Bill Wittliff, renowned photographer, writer and executive producer (with Suzanne De Passe) of Lonesome Dove.

The images, however, are worlds apart from ordinary production stills, depicting an extraordinary union of art, literature and history.

For more information about viewing hours, or to arrange group visits, call 903-983-8295 or visit

About Humanities Texas:

Humanities Texas develops and supports diverse programs across the state, including lectures, oral history projects, teacher institutes, museum exhibitions and documentary films. For more information, please visit Humanities Texas online at or call 512-440-1991.